Article Found In:

How do I delete my U.OSU site?

Understanding How "Deleting" a Site Works

U.OSU allows you the option to delete your site (Tools > Delete Site). However, this option will not permanently delete your site. Instead, the site remains in an archived state.

What this means: all users are removed and it disappears from your list of sites. Yet, the site still exists and can be re-activated by the eLearning Support team. For this reason, the site URL cannot be re-used.

Deleted sites can be retrieved if needed, assuming a "purge" of deleted sites hasn't taken place. Contact u@osu.edu if you need a site retrieved.

Removing a Site Owned by Someone Else

  • If you are not the owner of the site, we recommend that you ask the site owner to remove you from the list of users.

  • Alternatively, you can hide the site from your drop-down list of "My Sites", though the site will remain visible on the larger My Sites page. On the MySites page, for each site in which you are a member, there is a statement with a checkbox "Hide this blog in Admin Bar." Check that box and click the Save button (at the top of the page). Those sites will no longer be visible in the drop-down MySites menu.

Removing a Site Owned by You

If the site in question is your personal site (u.osu.edu/lastname.#), it should not be deleted. The personal site is linked to your user account; therefore, deleting the personal site makes it impossible for you to login to U.OSU. The eLearning Support team would need to delete your account in order for you to gain access again to U.OSU.

  • Instead of deleting the site, you might hide it from view. Someone with Admin access to a site can set it to be hidden, but the sites would still show up on the MySites list for everyone who is listed as a member.

  • Likewise, you can also hide the site from your drop-down list of "My Sites", though the site will remain visible on the larger My Sites page. On the MySites page, for each site in which you are a member, there is a statement with a checkbox "Hide this blog in Admin Bar." Check that box and click the Save button (at the top of the page). Those sites will no longer be visible in the drop-down MySites menu.

  • If you are positive you will not need the URL or site information, and it is not your personal site, you can delete it using Tools > Delete Site, effectively archiving your site.