Article Found In:

What privileges can a user get when I add them to my site?

It is important to be mindful of the roles you give users on your site. If you add a user as an administrator, you are granting full ownership rights to him/her. This means that if he/she deletes the site and/or its content, they can do so. For this reason, we recommend having only one administrator per blog. The list below describes all possible user roles at U.OSU.

Administrator - An administrator has full and complete ownership of a site, and can do absolutely everything. This person has complete power over posts/pages, comments, settings, theme choice, import, users and everything else. Nothing is off-limits, including deleting the entire site.

Editor - An editor can view, edit, publish and delete any posts/pages, moderate comments, manage categories, manage tags, manage links and upload files/images.

Author - An author can edit, publish and delete their posts, as well as upload files/images. Authors do not have access to modify, add, delete or publish pages.

Contributor - A contributor can edit their posts but cannot publish them. When a contributor creates a post, it will need to be submitted to an administrator for review. Once a contributor's post is approved by an administrator and published, however, it may no longer be edited by the contributor. A contributor does not have the ability to upload files/images.

Subscriber - Your subscribers are the people who have signed up to receive updates each time you publish new content. They do not have any editing privileges. If your site is public, anyone can follow it, but you may want to send out invitations to specific people who you'd like to share your site with.